Merit Award for The Pack IV

The Pack IV received a Merit Award at The Members Show 2022 - New Zealand Society of Artists in Glass. Glass works were selected by three honourable guest judges in recognition of high skill in the medium of art glass. Grace Lai; Curator of Applied Arts & Design, Tāmaki Paenga Hira Auckland War Memorial Museum, Greg Donson; Curator & Public Programmes Manager, Sarjeant Gallery Te Whare o Rehua Whanganui and Justine Olsen; Curator of Decorative Art & Design, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa.

The following artists were also recipients of awards:

Mike Crawford - Lazelle Supreme Award $3000 Murray and Denise Lazelle

Lisa Bate - Merit Award $1000

Vikki Fanning - Innovation Award $500

Article & Money Poppins People’s Choice Award $500 Money Poppins (TBC in January)

Members Show 2022 | New Zealand Society of Artists in Glass

The NZSAG Members Show 2022 coincides with the International Year of Glass 2022 and celebrates the diversity and range of contemporary art glass practice in Aotearoa New Zealand. NZSAG would like to acknowledge and thank their exhibition partners the Sarjeant Art Gallery and New Zealand Glassworks, the award sponsors, the judges of the awards as well as the participating artists and everyone who has worked behind the scenes to ensure the success of this exhibition.

John Abramczyk, George Agius, Fran Anderton, Sofia Athineou, Karin Barr, Thomas Barter, Lisa Bate, Claire Bell, Nick Blackwood-Reidie, Stephen Bradbourne, Hannah Bremner, Katie Brown, Lindsay Butler, Emma Camden, Christine Cathie, Mike Crawford, Robyn Douglas, Evelyn Dunstan, Vicki Fanning, Rosalind Fitz Patrick, Judith Le Harivel, Sue Hawker, Rebecca Heap, Graeme D Hitchcock, Marcus Ingley, Heather Kremen, Richard Landers, Kim Logue, Susan Louie, Lou Mathieson, Elizabeth McClure, Jenny McLeod, David Murray, Bindi Nimmo, Heather Olesen, Isla Osborne, Lynden Over and Christine Robb, Justine Palmer, Lyndsay Patterson, Linde Rose, Phillip Silverman, Natasha Sim, Carmen Simmonds, Adam Sinclair, Greg Smith, Karen Southey, Roz Speirs, Philip Stokes, Joanne Sullivan, Jennie Swann, Toni Tittleton, Di Tocker, Bruce Tremain, Jo Tricker, Hamish Webster, Shelley Wilkin, Stephen Williams, Campbell Wylie and Ben Young

22 October - 29 January 2023

Sarjeant Gallery Te Whare o Rehua Whanganui - Object Gallery (i-site) 31 Taupo Quay

Small Sculpture Award 2022 Finalist

I am honored to have 2 works selected this year for the Small Sculpture Prize 2022.

There are 28 works by 14 finalists selected for the exhibition from 60 submissions. Works were selected by Dr Kriselle Baker, fine art specialist, writer and publisher.

'The Small Sculpture Prize was initiated by the Waiheke Community Art Gallery in 2009. It continues to draw entries from all parts of New Zealand and has become the benchmark for small sculptural exploration while offering artists the opportunity for critical review.'

Point of No Return IV - Cast glass & ceramic | 140 x 130 x 280mm

Point of No Return III - Ceramic | 100 x 100 x 17mm

NZ Art Show 2022

Increased Response

Ceramic & underglaze - wheel thrown and assembled

220 x 170 x 220mm

On show in the RT Nelson Sculpture Awards at the NZ Art Show 2022 - TSB Arena, Wellington. Find all 68 finalists here Sculpture Awards Finalists

R T Nelson Sculpture Awards Finalist 2022

I am delighted to be selected as a finalist in the Richard T Nelson Sculpture Awards 2022. Ceramic sculpture 'Increased Response' will show alongside 68 artists from across New Zealand at the NZ Art Show in Wellington this coming June.

Exhibition Queens Birthday Weekend NZ Art Show TSB Arena, Wellington Thursday 3 - Sunday 5 June 2022

Page 1 of 4. next last »